Louisiana Department of Insurance Header with Commissioner James J. Donelon Follow us on Twitter Become a Fan on Facebook

 

Commissioner of Insurance

The Commissioner of Insurance has complete jurisdiction over the Life, Health and Accident, Property and Liability, Marine and Inland Marine, Fidelity and Surety, and Title insurance industries in Louisiana. He is ultimately responsible for the collection of Insurance Premium Taxes and Fees as well as the approval of all policy forms offered to Louisiana citizens, and has a host of licensing and regulatory duties to ensure a fair and safe market for Louisiana's insurance consumers.

    
James J. Donelon, Commissioner
(225) 342-5900
(800) 259-5300 or 5301
public@ldi.la.gov

Noble Ellington, Chief Deputy Commissioner 
(225) 342-4728
nellington@ldi.la.gov

Denise Brignac, Chief of Staff 
(225) 342-7276
dbrignac@ldi.la.gov

 

Public Affairs Division

Public Affairs accepts all media calls and public information requests; schedules TV, radio and print interviews with department employees; and coordinates public speaking engagements by department experts. Public Affairs produces more than a dozen publications, including department newsletters and consumer guides to purchasing insurance, preparing for disaster and spotting insurance fraud. You can find these publications, videos and additional materials by clicking here.


Ileana Ledet, Deputy Commissioner of Public Affairs
(225) 342-4950
iledet@ldi.la.gov

Judy Wright, Public Information Director
(225) 342-9892
jwright@ldi.la.gov

 

Minority Affairs Division

Minority Affairs works to increase the active involvement of minorities in Louisiana's insurance industry by providing educational and information services to minorities to foster a greater awareness of the opportunities available in the insurance industry and of the skills, training, and education necessary to prepare for opportunities in employment, appointment as agents and contracting for services with insurance companies.

Patrick Bell, Deputy Commissioner of Minority Affairs
(225) 342-8393
pbell@ldi.la.gov

Gayle Raby, Executive Staff Officer
(225) 342-8395
graby@ldi.la.gov

The Office of Consumer Advocacy performs the following duties and functions concerning products or services regulated by the Department of Insurance: receives inquiries and complaints from consumers, prepares and disseminates information to inform and assist consumers, provides direct assistance and advocacy for consumers who request such assistance or advocacy and ensures compliance with the policyholder bill of rights as provided in R.S. 22:41. The office also reports, with respect to apparent or potential violations of law or applicable rules or regulations of the department, such violations to the appropriate division or office of the department, which may take such further action as it deems appropriate.

Consumer Advocacy Newsletters

Ron C. Henderson, Deputy Commissioner of Consumer Advocacy
(225) 219-4771
rchenderson@ldi.la.gov

Sharon Arnold, Executive Staff Officer
(225) 219-4775
sarnold@ldi.la.gov

(225) 219-0615 fax
consumeradvocacy@ldi.la.gov

 

Internal Audit Division

Internal Audit assists management by identifying weaknesses and deficiencies in Departmental Operations and making recommendations for necessary corrective actions.   Internal Audit also provides management assistance to divisions upon request.   This division also performs special projects, as assigned by the Commissioner through his designee.

Helen Petho, Internal Auditor
(225) 342-4115
hpetho@ldi.la.gov