Keeping Your License

You put in a lot of hard work to obtain a license. Here is how to keep it active and up to date.

Keep your addresses, including your email updated.

The law requires that any changes to addresses or emails be reported within 30 days of the change. We send reminders for renewal and other important updates via email so you might miss important information if we do not have your correct information. You can update your email and address information quickly and easily on the LDI website.

Renew on time.

Licenses will renew on the last day of the birth month in even/odd years based on the license number.

Complete continuing education requirements.

Most lines require continuing education in order to renew. The number of hours needed is different depending on the lines held on the license. Visit the LDI website for current continuing education requirements.

For more information on the licensing process, visit the Louisiana Department of Insurance website at www.ldi.la.gov



Can't find what you need on the website?

Call us at (800) 259-5300

Becoming a In Louisiana

January 2024

This public document was produced by the Louisiana Department of Insurance and is available online.

Tim Temple
Commissioner of Insurance

If you're applying for a producer license in Louisiana for the first time, here's what you need to know:

The Basics

To obtain an insurance producer license, a Louisiana resident must:

- Be at least 18 years of age and competent and trustworthy,
- Reside in or maintain a principal place of business in Louisiana,
- Pass an examination (when required),
- Complete a three-month apprenticeship with a licensed producer (Bail Bond applicants only),
- Submit the appropriate forms and fees and be fingerprinted,
- Be able to provide any and all documentation reasonably necessary to verify information in your application,
- Report any felony convictions, and when applicable, acquire 18 USC 1033 written consent by the Commissioner of Insurance.

Lines of Authority

A producer license is issued for one or more lines of authority. The lines identify what kinds of insurance a producer is qualified to sell. The chart below lists the different producer authorities. You may want to check with the company you are going to work for before starting the process to be sure you are applying for the right line.

LINES OF AUTHORITY	
EXAM REQUIRED	
Life	Surplus Lines
Accident & Health or Sickness	Bail Bonds
Property	Title
Casualty	Industrial Fire
Personal Lines	Surety
No Exam Required	
Variable Life &	Limited Life, Health &
Variable Annuities	Accident
Credit	Travel

Important Note

Applicants for bail bonds must also complete a three-month apprenticeship before testing. Visit the LDI website for more information on this requirement.

Testing

Testing requirements help ensure a minimum level of knowledge about the products and services offered to the public. You will get the results of your exam the same day and then those results will be sent to the Louisiana Department of Insurance within the next day or two.

You can find a list of locations where you can take your exam on the testing center's website.

Fingerprinting

After you pass the test, you're going to need to be fingerprinted. All fingerprinting is done at Louisiana exam locations. Even if you did not have to take a test, you will still go to a test center to be fingerprinted. Check out the LDI website for current fingerprinting fees, locations and hours of operation.

Application

The last step is submitting your license application. Submitting your application is done online through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). The application fee will be collected at that time. Visit the LDI website for current application fees.