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Louisiana Property and Casualty Insurance Commission

Message from the Chairman

I am pleased to present the 2016-2017 Annual Report of the Louisiana Property and Casualty
Insurance Commission (LPCIC). The commission is composed of members representing
consumers, the insurance industry, agencies across state government, and law enforcement. Our
goal is to improve the state’s insurance market by reviewing and examining issues affecting the
availability and affordability of property and casualty insurance in the state of Louisiana.

In 2016 the Louisiana Legislature enacted laws increasing the penalties for both distracted driving
and the failure to wear seat belts. While these Acts are a start, the commission and other entities
concerned with highway safety continue to recommend strengthening these laws.

Distracted driving is an ever increasing problem. While vehicles become safer with technology
such as accident avoidance systems, the frequency and severity of accidents outpace the benefits
of technology. Surveys show that large percentages of drivers are engaged in other activities while
driving: the internet—29%, phone calls—50%, taking pictures—20%, and taking videos—10%.
Traffic deaths totaled 40,200 in 2016, and increase of 6% after having increased by 7% in 2015.
The commission supports a complete ban on the physical manipulation of phones while driving.

The commission recommends that the Louisiana Legislature encourage the development of
driverless vehicle technology. Louisiana should follow Arizona’s example of welcoming field
testing. Louisiana should ensure that the state’s regulatory regime is coordinated and updated to
accommaodate the latest developments in vehicle technology. With Louisiana’s auto insurance rates
continuing to rank among the highest in the nation, this technology is a solution whose time is
near. The commission will study this technology and its impact on automobile insurance and
insurance rates. Clearly such technology will make distracted driving a thing of the past.

Auto insurance rates are rapidly increasing and the availability of auto insurance is at near crisis
levels. Currently Louisiana has the 4™ highest auto insurance rates in the country according to the
NAIC, with an average cost of $1,192.92 per year, per vehicle, as compared to Vermont’s $665.17
per year, per vehicle cost.

The commission has also strongly and repeatedly urged legal reforms such as reducing the civil
jury trial threshold to a level more closely aligned with other states, and the repeal of the Direct
Action Statute, which only serves to drive up defense costs for insurance companies as well as
placing insurance front and center during jury trials. The commission will also study and prepare
recommendations on limits to the Collateral Source Rule, which allows for recovery of damages



for costs not actually incurred. All of these issues have a dramatic and negative impact on
Louisiana’s auto insurance market, and result in decreased competition due to insurer’s
unwillingness to compete for business in our state.

The current legal authority for the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) expires October 1,
2017. It is necessary to reauthorize NFIP for a period sufficient to foster the developing market for
private flood insurance as an alternative to NFIP coverage. Pursuant to the Biggert-Waters Act,
federal banking regulators are developing a rule to permit lenders to accept private flood insurance
in lieu of NFIP policies. The commission will study the availability and affordability of flood
insurance.

We urge our Senators and Representatives in Congress to make the reauthorization of the NFIP a
priority so that it does not get bogged down by the many other matters that will be under
consideration at the end of September 2017.

The commission has had a productive year with presentations and discussions on the Louisiana
State Uniform Construction Code, the U.S. Surgeon General’s campaign to curb opioid misuse
and abuse, the impact of workers’ compensation reforms in Texas, and the effects of certain federal
laws and programs on property and casualty insurance. The commission will continue to focus on
traditional areas of interest, and it will broaden its areas of study to include future developments
in property and casualty insurance of which many will be technology driven.

Louis G. Fey, Jr., CPCU, CIC, CRM, AIC
Chairman, Louisiana Property and Casualty Insurance Commission



Membership and Staff

Members of the Louisiana Property and Casualty Insurance Commission as of February 1, 2017:

Louis G. Fey, Jr., Chairman
Professional Insurance Agents of Louisiana

The Honorable John Bel Edwards
Governor

The Honorable Kirk Talbot
House Insurance Committee Chair

The Honorable Mike Huval
House Insurance Committee Member

Raymond Aleman, Jr.
Commissioner’s Appointee

Sheral Kellar
Louisiana Workforce Commission (OWCA Director)

The Honorable Earl Taylor
Louisiana District Attorneys Association

Michael Guy
Attorney General’s Designee

Julius W. “Will” Grubbs, Jr.
Consumer Representative, Speaker of the House

Marc Carter
LAFAC, Inc. Representative

Shawn Collins
NAMIC Representative

Joe O’Connor
Property Insurance Association of Louisiana

Staff: Thomas D. Travis, Director
Ron Williams, Assistant Director

Jeff Albright, Vice Chairman
Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of Louisiana

The Honorable James J. Donelon
Commissioner of Insurance

The Honorable Dan Morrish
Senate Insurance Committee Member

The Honorable Ronnie Johns
Senate Insurance Committee Member

Katara Williams Ph.D.
Louisiana Highway Safety Commission

The Honorable Karen St. Germain
Commissioner of Motor Vehicles

The Honorable Gregory Champagne
Law Enforcement Representative (Sheriff of St. Charles)

Ron Henderson
Deputy Commissioner of Consumer Advocacy, LDI

Christopher S. Haik
Consumer Representative, President of the Senate

Leslie Sallean
Louisiana Surplus Lines Association Representative

Ann Metrailer
PCI Representative

Paul Buffone
LWCC Representative



State of the Market: Quick Facts (as of December 31, 2016)

Automobile:

Competitive voluntary market is challenging.

Increased minimum liability limits in 2010 resulted in a 15-20% premium increase.
Parishes in the Greater New Orleans and Baton Rouge areas continue to pay the highest
rates.

Market-wide insurance premium increase of 8.9% last year.

In 2014 Louisiana ranked second highest in combined average cost of insurance at
$1,364. *

Homeowners’:

Competitive voluntary market has been re-established since 2005.

Insurance market stabilized due to increased number of insurers.

Twenty-one (21) new insurers writing in Louisiana who were not here in 2005.
Residual market share of Louisiana Citizens continues to decrease due to depopulation
program and increased competition.

Market share for the residual homeowners’ market decreased from 9.8% to 1.3% since
2008, which is an 87% decrease in the homeowners’ market share since 2008.
Statewide average market-wide insurance premium increase of only 0.4% last year—
lowest statewide average increase since 2005.

Louisiana ranked third in the average cost of homeowners’ insurance in 2014 at $1,847;
Florida ranked first at $2,055; Texas ranked second at $1,947. *

While Louisiana’s homeowners’ rates increased between 2007-2014, the rate of
increase was lower than the national average for that time period.

Workers’ Compensation:

**

Market remains competitive.

Claim frequency decreased in recent years.

Medical severity did not change significantly in recent years.

Market-wide insurance premium decrease of 1.3% in 2016.

Overall statewide 9.8% decrease approved for NCCI loss costs for 2017, which
decreased across all industry groups. **

Fourth consecutive year that Louisiana had a decrease in NCCI loss costs.

Over the last 10 years, workers’ compensation loss costs have decreased by 34%.
Over the last 20 years, workers’ compensation loss costs have decreased by 50%.

According to the most recent NAIC data.
According to the most recent NCCI data.



Top 10 Most Expensive and Least Expensive States for Auto Insurance, 2014
Rank | Most Expensive States | Average Expenditure | Rank | Least Expensive States | Average Expenditure
1 New Jersey $1,263.67 1 Idaho $571.94
2 Michigan $1,227.36 2 lowa $585.71
3 New York $1,205.03 3 South Dakota $601.33
4 Louisiana $1,192.92 4 Maine $606.90
5 District of Columbia $1,192.45 5 North Dakota $630.24
6 Florida $1,140.84 6 Indiana $642.19
7 Delaware $1,125.74 7 North Carolina $643.84
8 Rhode Island $1,106.08 8 Wisconsin $646.48
9 Massachusetts $1,035.52 9 Nebraska $662.83
10 Connecticut $1,031.70 10 Vermont $665.17

Based on average automobile insurance expenditures.

Source: © 2017 National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC).




Top 10 Most Expensive and Least Expensive Cities for Auto Insurance, 2014

Most Expensive

Average Car

Least Expensive

Average Car

Rank Cities Insurance Price Rank Cities Insurance Price
1 Detroit, MI $10,723 1 Winston-Salem, NC $969
2 New Orleans, LA $4,310 2 Greensboro, NC $1,090
3 Grand Rapids, Ml $4,042 3 Raleigh, NC $1,098
4 Newark, NJ $3,525 4 Durham, NC $1,101
5 Baton Rouge, LA $3,364 5 Charlotte, NC $1,123
6 Hialeah, FL $3,272 6 Boise, ID $1,222
7 Jersey City, NJ $3,267 7 Rochester, NY $1,249
8 Louisville, KY $3,256 8 Fayetteville, NC $1,295
9 Miami, FL $3,169 9 Spokane, WA $1,308
10 Philadelphia, PA $2,931 10 Montgomery, AL $1,376

Based on a 26-year-old male without any history of accidents, insuring a 2012 Toyota Camry. Assumes

$100,000/$300,000/$50,000 liability limits with a $500 deductible. To calculate city averages, NerdWallet
used only ZIP codes within city limits and not in the city's metro area.
Detroit is the costliest city for auto insurance and had more than double the expenditures of the second

costliest city, New Orleans.

Six of the least expensive cities for auto insurance were in North Carolina, led by Winston-Salem

Source: NerdWallet



https://www.nerdwallet.com/blog/insurance/best-cities-cheap-car-insurance/

History and Purpose

In 1997, the Louisiana Legislature created the Council on Automobile Insurance Rates and
Enforcement (CAIRE) whose thorough studies of automobile insurance and enforcement issues
led the legislature to expand CAIRE’s areas of study in 2001 to homeowners’ and workers’
compensation insurance and to name it the Louisiana Property and Casualty Insurance
Commission (Act 187 of the 2001 Regular Session).

The primary purpose of the commission is “to review and examine the availability and affordability
of property and casualty insurance in the state of Louisiana.”

Act 590 of the 2003 Regular Session amended the LPCIC membership, which then consisted
of 22 members. A representative of law enforcement is now selected jointly by the
superintendent of the Louisiana State Police, the secretary of the Department of Public Safety
and Corrections, the president of the Louisiana Association of Chiefs of Police and the president
of the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Association. Representatives of two national trade organizations and
one state organization were also added to the membership.

Act 459 of the 2007 Regular Session abolished the Louisiana Insurance Rating Commission
effective January 1, 2008, and provided an appointee for the commissioner of insurance.

Act 317 of the 2012 Regular Session provided for two additional members of the LPCIC—the
deputy commissioner of insurance for consumer advocacy and a representative of the
Louisiana Surplus Lines Association.

Act 223 of the 2014 Regular Session added another member—a representative of the National
Association of Mutual Insurance Companies (NAMIC).

The LPCIC now consists of 24 members.



Review of Legislative Recommendations for 2016

1. Maintain or strengthen statewide building codes.

There was no legislation passed that lowered current building code standards. Act 262 (HB 960)
of the 2016 Regular Session amended the Louisiana Industrialized Building Act, by enacting La.
R.S. 40:1750.56(D), to require that “Any temporary housing, typically used for daily living
purposes, that is provided for temporary workers shall comply with the provisions of [the
Louisiana Industrialized Building Act].”

2. Enact legislation to address distracted driving.

The LPCIC recommended that the legislature ban the manual use by the operator of a motor vehicle
while in motion of all electronic devices not permanently installed in the motor vehicle.

Such a ban was not enacted, but Act 472 (SB 91) increased the penalties for certain uses of wireless
telecommunications devices:

e For text messaging and social networking while driving, the fine increased from $175 to $500
for a first violation and from $500 to $1000 for a subsequent violation.

e For persons holding a Class "E" learner's license or intermediate license, the fine for using
hand-held wireless devices increased from $175 to $500 for a first violation and from $500 to
$1,000 for a subsequent violation.

e For minors using wireless telecommunications devices while driving, the fine increased from
$100 to $250 for a first violation and from $250 to $500 with a sixty-day license suspension
for a subsequent violation.

e For any person using wireless telecommunications devices while driving in a school zone, the
fine increased from $175 to $500 for a first violation and from $500 to $1,000 with a sixty-day
license suspension for a subsequent violation.

3. Enact legislation to increase fines and penalties for seat belt violations, including making
a seat belt violation a primary cause for a traffic stop and issuance of a citation.

Act 445 (HB 751) raised fines for first offense from $25 to $50 and subsequent offenses from $50
to $75.

4. Enact legislation to establish a mediation program for residential property claims.

HB 839 relative to a property insurance mediation program for residential property insurance was
introduced in the 2016 Regular Session but did not advance beyond the House Insurance
Committee.

5. Enact legislation to lower the civil jury trial threshold.

House Bill 89 of the 2016 Regular Session proposed a reduction of the civil jury threshold from
$50,000 to $20,000. It did not advance beyond committee.



6. Enact legislation to repeal the direct action statute except where the defendant cannot be
served.

There was no legislation on direct action introduced in 2016.

7. Enact legislation to reinstate uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM) coverage as a first
party coverage.

There was no legislation on uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM) coverage introduced in 2016.
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Review of 2016 Study Issues
1. Monitor transportation network company issues

Monitor the effectiveness of The Transportation Network Company Motor Vehicle Responsibility
Law in addressing the needs of drivers and passengers. Observe the market to ascertain any
insurance trends relative to transportation networks or the sharing economy in general.

There have been no insurance issues specific to transportation network companies (TNCs) in this
state in 2016. The rapid development of autonomous or driverless vehicles in which TNCs are
actively involved is a separate study issue. The LPCIC will continue to monitor TNC issues as part
of a broader study of issues related to the sharing economy.

2. Study cybersecurity insurance issues

Cybersecurity is a major issue in law, technology, and national security. Insurance coverage for
liabilities and losses that result from breaches of cybersecurity is a major topic of concern
throughout the insurance industry. The affordability and availability of insurance coverage for
cyber-related losses is a growing concern for firms of all sizes.

Cybersecurity and insurance for cyber issues is a matter that affects the insurance industry as a
payer of losses and as a target of cyber-attacks, particularly health insurers. It is a subject that also
intersects with highly automated vehicles (HAV) and autonomous vehicles, the sharing economy,
and any part of the economy or society that relies on computers or holds sensitive information.

The commission staff will continue to study this subject, which is a long-term issue.
3. Study driverless vehicle issues

Driverless vehicle technology will be commercially available in the foreseeable future. It may
reduce the risk associated with human error, but it will also add new risk associated with
cybersecurity, transportation networks, product liability for software and hardware, and other
potential liabilities.

The legislature enacted HB 1143 (Act 318) of the 2016 Regular Session by Representative Stokes,
which amended La. R.S. 32:1 to include a definition of “autonomous technology” for motor
vehicles operating on the roads of this state. The National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)
notes that Louisiana is one of only nine states and DC to enact legislation on the subject as of the
end of 2016. (http://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/autonomous-vehicles-legislation.aspx)

Transportation advances may lead insurers to rethink their strategies related to underwriting,
claims, distribution channels and product mixes. Mobility sharing and autonomous vehicles may
have a transformative effect on future insurance business models. The NAIC CIPR (Center for
Insurance Policy and Research) sponsored an event on “Gearing Up for Autonomous Vehicles”
that addressed some of these issues and was attended by LDI and LPCIC staff. The panel
discussion explored how the integration of technology into vehicles could change the automobile
insurance market. (The CIPR Events Page has the materials, which may be found at
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www.naic.org/cipr_events.htm. The CIPR also maintains a web page on self-driving cars at
www.naic.org/cipr_topics/topic_self driving_cars.htm.)

Like transportation networks, home-sharing, and cybersecurity, driverless vehicles present
regulatory challenges across many disciplines and jurisdictions of which insurance is only one
component. All stakeholders should start with the recently released Federal Automated Vehicles
Policy: Accelerating the Next Revolution in Roadway Safety, which includes a model state policy
for addressing automated vehicle issues and outlines the current regulatory framework for highly-
automated vehicles (HAV) and autonomous vehicles. (https://one.nhtsa.gov/nhtsa/av/av-

policy.html)
4. Study opioid use and abuse issues

There is a national problem with regard to the abuse of opioids that directly and negatively affects
liability and workers’ compensation insurance.

The LPCIC held a meeting focused on the issue of opioid utilization in workers’ compensation
that is discussed in the Minutes of the October 19" meeting and attachments in the Appendix.
There was a further presentation and discussion of the issue during the February 1, 2017 meeting.

The Louisiana Transportation Research Center released a report entitled Drugged Driving in
Louisiana: Quantification of its Impact on Public Health and Implications for Legislation,
Enforcement and Prosecution. The objectives of this research were, among other things, to
evaluate laws and policies about drugged driving in Louisiana and other states, assess the
availability of drugged driving data, and provide an analysis of the frequency of drugged driving.
The findings reflect a lack of standardized procedures and an uneven distribution of resources
throughout Louisiana. A comparison of DWI arrests, speeding violations, and crashes of drivers
who tested positive for various drugs shows that drivers arrested for drugged driving have higher
rates of prior unsafe driving incidents than other drivers. Survey interviews reveal an overall lack
of training, resources, and testing capacities in Louisiana. This study presents recommendations
for dealing with drug-impaired driving.

5. Study third party litigation funding issues

The LPCIC intends to determine the effect that the funding of litigation by third parties may have
on the affordability and availability of insurance coverage.

6. Study collateral source rule issues

Study the effect on insurance costs that the collateral source rule has. Examine the holding in
Hoffman v. 21st Century N. Am. Ins. Co., 2014-2279 (La. 10/2/15), 2015 WL 5776131 to determine
how its rationale may affect premiums for liability insurance.

The LPCIC staff is researching this issue and preparing recommendations for 2018.
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7. Study Medicare Secondary Payer issues

The Medicare Secondary Payer Act has been enforced in settlement of workers’ compensation
matters for several years. Study the effect of the Act on the ability of the parties to ordinary
personal injury claims to settle such claims.

The LPCIC received a presentation on the Medicare Secondary Payer (MSP) Act at its November
16, 2016 meeting as reflected in the Meeting Minutes. The LPCIC will continue to study this issue
as part of its monitoring of federal actions that affect property and casualty insurance.

8. Study bad faith law issues

The LPCIC intends to study how statutes that authorize bad faith damages may negatively impact
premiums for property and casualty insurance coverage in Louisiana. This study will include an
analysis of the criteria used by Louisiana courts to award bad faith damages and whether the
legislature should establish more objective criteria to assist the courts.
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Recommendations for 2017

1. Uniform Construction Code

The administrator of the Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code Council (LSUCCC), Mark
Joiner, and the State Fire Marshal, Butch Browning, made a presentation to the LPCIC at its
November 16, 2016 meeting as reflected in the Meeting Minutes. They impressed upon the
members of the commission the successful implementation of the Uniform Construction Code and
the modern system employed by the State Fire Marshal to ensure the maintenance of high standards
of building construction and safety.

The LPCIC recommends that the legislature resist any efforts to weaken or diminish the current
Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code and enact legislation to strengthen the Uniform
Construction Code and its enforcement.

2. Distracted Driving

All forms of distracted and inattentive driving increase the risk of automobile accidents, which
result in increased automobile insurance premiums. Cognitive demands of the use of hand-held
devices narrow the field of vision and create distraction from the responsibilities of driving. Studies
have shown that this type of distraction results in risk similar to driving with a .08 BAC and a four
times greater chance of being in a traffic crash.

The Louisiana Transportation Research Center (LTRC) produced a research paper entitled
Distracted Driving and Associated Crash Risks that evaluated the effects of various distractions
on a driver’s ability to control a motor vehicle. The paper is available at
http://www.ltrc.Isu.edu/pdf/2016/FR_530.pdf.

The National Highway Transportation Safety Administration has a website at www.distraction.gov
that addresses the issue of distracted driving.

In 2016 California enacted Assembly Bill 1785, which prohibits a person from driving a motor
vehicle while holding and operating a handheld wireless telephone or a wireless electronic
communication device. The Act authorizes a driver to operate a handheld wireless telephone or a
wireless electronic communications device in a manner requiring the use of the driver’s hand only
under specified conditions.

Assembly Bill 1785, the NHSTA Sample Texting While Driving Law, and a chart of Distracted
Driving Laws by State are attached to the Meeting Minutes for February 1, 2017.

The LPCIC recommends that the legislature ban the manual use by the operator of a motor vehicle
while in motion of all electronic devices not permanently installed in the vehicle.

3. Civil Jury Threshold

There are 14 states that have a civil jury trial threshold. Louisiana is the highest at $50,000.
Maryland is a distant second at $15,000, followed by Rhode Island and Hawaii at $5,000. Thirty-
six states have no threshold. Lawsuits below the threshold are heard by a judge without the option

14


http://www.ltrc.lsu.edu/pdf/2016/FR_530.pdf
http://www.distraction.gov/

of a jury trial. Restricted access to jury trials results in more lawsuits, fewer out-of-court
settlements, and higher and more frequent plaintiff verdicts by trial judges.

The LPCIC recommends that the legislature reduce the civil jury threshold.

4. Direct Action

Louisiana remains the only state in the Union with a pure direct action statute. The result is that
only in Louisiana is a plaintiff allowed to name an insurance company as a defendant in a lawsuit
in addition to or sometimes in lieu of the insured. The exposure of the insurer as a defendant to the
trial jury is a negative factor in efforts to reduce the cost of liability insurance in Louisiana.

The LPCIC recommends that the legislature repeal the direct action statute or amend it to limit
the instances for naming an insurer as a defendant to those where the insured is unable to be
served with process.

5. Opioid Abuse

The LPCIC received presentations on the issue of opioid abuse and the problem of high levels of
opioid prescription in workers’ compensation claims.

The Surgeon General of the United States has issued new guidelines on the use of opioids and
begun a national campaign to fight the misuse of opioids—turnthetiderx.org.

The International Association of Industrial Accident Boards and Commissions (IAIABC)
published in April 2016 a paper of the IAIABC Medical Issues Committee entitled A Discussion
on the Use of a Formulary in Workers’ Compensation that provides explanations of how
formularies work and considerations for the development and implementation of a formulary in
workers’ compensation. It also presents brief case studies with outcomes and lessons learned for
those states that have adopted formularies in workers’ compensation—North Dakota, Ohio,
Tennessee, Texas, and Washington. The paper may be downloaded at
https://www.iaiabc.org/images/iaiabc/Resources/Discussion-Use-Formulary-Work-Comp-
IAIABC-04-27-16.pdf.

In 2015, California enacted AB 1124 enabling and requiring the use of a pharmacy formulary in
workers’ compensation by July 1, 2017.

The LPCIC recommends that the legislature enact a requirement for the use of a closed pharmacy
formulary in workers’ compensation claims.
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Study Issues for 2017
1. Sharing Economy

The sharing economy creates insurance and regulatory issues that will require study over several
years. Of particular interest to Louisiana’s tourism industry is the rise of home-sharing applications
that allow a person to rent a room, apartment, or house—such as Airbnb and HomeAway. Rental
of a private home creates liability risk of which neither party to the rental may be aware. Similar
to transportation network drivers and passengers, there could be gaps in coverage that expose both
parties to substantial risk.

The NAIC approved and published in 2016 a brief white paper entitled Insurance Implications of
Home-Sharing: Regulator Insights and Consumer Awareness, which provides a discussion of the
risks related to home-sharing. It is available on the NAIC website.
(http://www.naic.org/documents/cmte_c_sharing_econ_wg_related white paper home_sharing.pdf)

The LPCIC will monitor and study issues related to the sharing economy.
2. Cybersecurity and Insurance

Cybersecurity is a major issue in law, technology, and national security. Insurance coverage for
liabilities and losses that result from breaches of cybersecurity is a major topic of concern
throughout the insurance industry. The affordability and availability of insurance coverage for
cyber-related losses is a growing concern for firms of all sizes.

The LPCIC will monitor and study issues related to cybersecurity and insurance.
3. Driverless Vehicles

The availability and affordability of adequate insurance coverage for individuals or entities that
may make use of driverless technology is an issue that approaches as quickly as the deployment
of driverless vehicle technology on the public roads.

The LPCIC will study regulatory and insurance issues that arise with the development of driverless
vehicles.

4. Private Flood Insurance and NFIP Reauthorization

Federal law permits mortgagors to purchase private flood insurance in lieu of NFIP coverage.
There do not appear to be any legal or regulatory barriers to a market for private flood insurance
in Louisiana in both the surplus lines and standard markets for personal lines or commercial
coverages. There is presently some activity in Louisiana in the writing of surplus lines flood
policies for first-dollar and excess flood coverage. In Mississippi, Alabama and Florida, there are
admitted insurers writing private flood insurance.

With the need to renew the NFIP beyond September 30, 2017, private flood insurance will be an
increasingly important subject as policy makers examine the use of market-based solutions to
lessen the exposure of taxpayers to flood risk.
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The LPCIC will monitor and study the affordability and availability of private flood insurance and
proposals for increased reliance upon the private market in the renewal of the NFIP.

5. Federal Actions Affecting Insurance and Insurance Regulation

In recent years the federal government has taken a more active role in matters of insurance
regulation at the national and international level. The passage of the Nonadmitted and Reinsurance
Reform Act of 2010 and the Federal Insurance Office Act of 2010 had direct effects on the state
regulation of insurance and created a federal agency to monitor property and casualty insurance
matters. The recent conclusion of a “covered agreement” pursuant to the Federal Insurance Office
Act may, if implemented, have preemptive effects on state laws and state regulation of insurance.
The Medicare Secondary Payer Act is an example of a federal law with a potential to affect the
availability and affordability of insurance by impacting the cost of claims. Cybersecurity, private
flood insurance, driverless vehicle technology and many other issues will involve the federal
government and may impact insurance markets directly or indirectly.

The LPCIC will monitor and study the effects of federal laws and regulations on the affordability
and availability of property and casualty insurance.

6. Third Party Litigation Funding

The LPCIC will continue to study the effect that the funding of litigation by third parties may have
on the affordability and availability of insurance coverage.

7. Bad Faith

The LPCIC will continue to study how statutes that authorize bad faith damages may negatively
impact premiums for property and casualty insurance coverage in Louisiana.

8. Collateral Source Rule Issues
The LPCIC will study the effect on insurance costs of the collateral source rule.
9. Punitive Damages for Distracted Driving

The LPCIC will study whether or not other states have general or special statutes authorizing
punitive damages, effect on the numbers of distracted driving incidents reported, and any effects
on insurance.
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Appendix
Meeting Agendas and Minutes

Agenda for October 19, 2016 Meeting
Minutes for October 19, 2016 Meeting
Attachments to Minutes for October 19, 2016 Meeting
o Opioid Utilization in Louisiana Workers’ Compensation
0 Treatment Guidelines/Pharmacy Formulary—Texas Workers” Compensation
Reforms
Agenda for November 16, 2016 Meeting
Minutes for November 16, 2016 Meeting
Attachment to Minutes for November 16, 2016 Meeting
o Liability MSAs: Will They Become a Reality?

Agenda for December 14, 2016 Meeting

Minutes for December 14, 2016 Meeting

Attachments to Minutes for December 14, 2016 Meeting
0 NAIC Principles for NFIP Reauthorization

o Draft Principles for Flood Insurance Reauthorization and Reform (December
2016) (House Republicans)

Agenda for February 1, 2017 Meeting
Minutes for February 1, 2017 Meeting
Attachments to Minutes for February 1, 2017 Meeting
o California Assembly Bill (AB) 1785 of 2016 on Distracted Driving
0 NHTSA Sample Law to Prohibit Texting While Driving
o Distracted Driving Laws by State, Governor’s Highway Safety Association
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Louisiana Property and Casualty Insurance Commaission
Commission Meeting Agenda
Wednesday, October 19, 2016 at 1:00 P.M.
Department of Insurance — Plaza Hearing Room
Final Agenda

I1.

I11.

IVv.

VI

Call to Order
Roll Call

Discussions and Presentations

A. Presentation by Gary Patureau, Exec. Dir. of the La. Assoc. of Self-Insured Employers
(LASIE), on Opioid Abuse; HCR 113 and the Commission on Preventing Opioid Abuse

B. Presentation by Gary Patureau, Exec. Dir. of LASIE, on the Medicare Secondary Payer
Act

C. Discussion of the 2015-16 Annual Report
D. Discussion of 2016 Legislation

E. Discussion of Any Other Matters

Public Comments
Date for Next Meeting—November 16 (scheduled)

Adjournment



Louisiana Property and Casualty Insurance Commission

Minutes of the Meeting of the Commission

Wednesday, October 19, 2016 @ 1:00 P.M.

Department of Insurance — Plaza Hearing Room

Members Present: Commissioner Donelon, Lou Fey (Chairman), Sen. Morrish, Rep. Talbot,
Rep. Huval, Shawn Collins (for Lee Ann Alexander), Marc Carter, Chris Haik, Dir. Sheral
Keller, Ron Henderson, Leslie Sallean, Mike Baron (for Dr. Katara Williams), Ann Metrailer.

Commission Staff Present: Tom Travis.

LDI Staff Present: Warren Byrd, Rich Piazza, lleana Ledet, Danielle Blanchard, Charles
Hansberry.

Others Present: Pauline Williams (OWCA), Kenneth Eichler (Work Loss Data Institute)
The meeting was called to order at 1:00 p.m. by the chairman.

Mr. Travis called the roll and reported the absence of a quorum. (Mr. Baron of LHSC came in
after the roll call to create a quorum.)

Mr. Fey, the chairman, welcomed the commission members and others in attendance.

Presentations on Opioid Abuse:

Moderator: Gary Patureau, Exec. Dir. of the Louisiana Association of Self-Insured
Employers (LASIE)

Presenters (by Phone):

Shavon L. Arline-Bradley, MPH, MDiv, Dir., External Engagement, Office of the US
Surgeon General

Dr. Vennela Thumula, Workers’ Compensation Research Institute (WCRI)

Rod Bordelon, Attorney and former Commissioner of Workers’ Compensation for the
State of Texas

Ms. Arline-Bradley provided an overview of the Turn the Tide Rx program of the Surgeon
General’s office. She discussed the three main areas of emphasis: prescribing practices of health
care practitioners; information on risks of opioids for patients; and evidence based treatment for



opioid based disorders. She provided a tour of the program’s website—turnthetiderx.org, which
has resources and information for health care practitioners and the public. A cornerstone of the
program is the Prescriber Pledge, which consists of three parts: “(1) Educate ourselves to treat
pain safely and effectively. (2) Screen our patients for opioid use disorder and provide or connect
them with evidence-based treatment. (3) Talk about and treat addiction as a chronic illness, not a
moral failing.”

Dr. Vennela Thumula of WCRI spoke on “Opioid Utilization in Louisiana Workers’
Compensation.” Her presentation included graphs showing that: 85% of those receiving pain
medication receive opioids; 17% of those receiving opioids do so on a long-term basis; the
opioid dose in Louisiana is much larger than most states.

Rod Bordelon presented on the topic of “Treatment Guidelines, Pharmacy Formulary, Texas
Workers’ Compensation Reforms,” describing changes made to that state’s workers’
compensation system since 2005. He described the use of a pharmacy formulary in workers’
compensation and the transition from a legacy system to a mixed legacy and formulary system to
the current system of all drug claims being subject to the formulary. He emphasized the
reduction in opioid prescriptions, the reduction in medical disputes, and that prescriptions outside
the formulary are still available through the utilization review process.

Mr. Patureau spoke on efforts to enact a workers’ compensation drug formulary system in
Louisiana.

Other agenda items were deferred until the next meeting on November 16, 2016 at 10:00 a.m.

There being no objection, the chairman adjourned the meeting at 2:45 p.m.


http://turnthetiderx.org/

Opioid Utilization In Louisiana

Workers Compensation

October 2016




85% Of Injured Workers With Pain Meds.

Received Opioids In LA
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Median: 74%
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In LA, 1 In 6 Injured Workers Received

Opioids On A Longer-Term Basis
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Opioid Drugs Commonly Prescribed To LA
Injured Workers, Paid Under Workers’ Comp.

% Of Pain Medication Rx That 25-State 25-State
Were For ... Median Range
Hydrocodone-APAP (Vicodin®) 46% 30% 10%-46%
Tramadol (Ultram®) 13% 14% 11%-24%
Oxycodone Products o o O
(Percocet®, OxyContin®) % 2k Lope
All Other Opioids (Mor.phme, 4% 4% 59 8%
Fentanyl, Buprenorphine, etc.)

Non-Opioid Pain Medications 30% 41% 30%-54%

* DEA issued a final rule to reschedule hydrocodone-combination products from Schedule Ill to Schedule I,
effective October 2014.

© Copyright 2016 WCRI. All Rights Reserved. 4



Patients In Louisiana Had Double The

Amount Of Opioids Seen In The Median State
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Significant Reductions Seen In Amount Of
Opioids Per Claim In Most States
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Several Reforms Coincided With Reductions
In Opioids Received Over The Study Period

% Decrease In Average 31% 29% 24% 21% 21% 20%

Amount Of Opioids Per

Claim

PDMP v v v v v

Treatment Guidelines v v

Drug Formulary v

Others Spillover Regulated

effects of pain

group clinics
health
limits

PDMP: Prescription Drug Monitoring Programs

© Copyright 2016 WCRI. All Rights Reserved.



Medical Treatment Guidelines For Chronic

Opioid Management Recommend

= Urine drug testing
= Psychological evaluations and treatment
= Active physical therapy

Note: Guideline recommendations are based on widely-accepted medical treatment
guidelines, including ACOEM, APS/AAPM, ODG, and state guidelines (CO, CT, LA, MA, UT,
WA). See Appendix B of the WCRI Longer-Term Use of Opioids study.

© Copyright 2016 WCRI. All Rights Reserved.



Gap Observed Between Practice And
Treatment Guidelines Recommendations

% Of Claims With Longer-Term

Medi R
Use Of Opioids That Received Sedlan A an§e
Recommended Services S tate mgng States
(in latest study period) tudied tudied
Drug Testing 42% 40% 22%-50%
Psychological Evaluation 9% 6% 3%-29%
Psychological Treatment 4% 3% 1%-12%
Active Physical Therapy 84% 87% 18%-92%

Nonsurgical Claims With > 7 Days Of Lost Time That Were Identified As Longer-Term Users Of Opioids,

Injury Year 2012, Average 24 Months Of Experience
© Copyright 2016 WCRI. All Rights Reserved. 9




Key Findings From WCRI Opioid Studies For

LA

= 85% of injured workers with pain meds received opioids

= 1 in 6 injured workers with opioids, received opioids on
a longer-term basis, highest among study states

= Amount of opioids received by injured workers was
higher in LA. Also higher in NY and PA

= Few injured workers with longer-term opioid use
received guideline recommended services

© Copyright 2016 WCRI. All Rights Reserved.



= For comments/questions about the findings:

Dr. Vennela Thumula Ms. Dongchun Wang
vthumula@wcrinet.org dwang@wcrinet.org

© Copyright 2016 WCRI. All Rights Reserved.



Treatment Guidelines
Pharmacy Formulary

Texas Workers” Compensation
Reforms

Rod Bordelon
Principal
Law Offices of Rod Bordelon




Overview of Texas WC System

* More than 290 insurance companies actively writing WC
 S2 billion in direct written premium

* Including self-insured employers and governmental entities,
more than 800 insurance carriers with WC claims

* 67% of private year-round employers have WC and all
governmental entities have WC

e 81% of private sector employees covered by WC

July 2016 b



Overview of Texas WC System

e About 225,000 new claims filed each year and about
340,000 claims receiving benefits each year

* Pharmacy accounts for 14% of medical payments
— Opioids account for 4.6% of medical payments

e Utilizes evidence-based medicine treatment and return-to-
work guidelines

* Requires certain services to be pre-authorized by the
insurance carrier and allows retrospective utilization review
to determine medical necessity

July 2016 b



Overview of Texas WC System

» Sets fee guidelines for professional, inpatient/outpatient
hospital, ASC and pharmacy services and allows
pharmacy contractual discounts

* Has administrative dispute resolution process for
medical necessity and medical fee disputes

* Collects medical charges, payments and utilization data
for all medical services

* Allows certified networks, which require employees to
select network treating doctors, but allows employees
choice of pharmacy

July 2016 b



Overview of Texas WC System

e Overall, Texas today has a healthy, stable, and
cost effective system

e But that was not always the case

e Several statutory changes dating to 1989, 2003
and most recently (and effectively) 2005 helped
reform the system, decrease costs and stabilize
the marketplace

July 2016 b



Pre- 2005 in Texas

* Costs Increased

 Medical disputes increased

* Insurance premiums increased

* Insurance carrier losses increased

 More employers dropped coverage (Optional)

* More physicians and hospitals refused accepting
WC patients

* More employees had difficulty finding care
e Return to Work Outcomes Deteriorated

July 2016 b



Pre-2005 in Texas
Workers’ Compensation Research Institute

WCRI 2001 Study

* Texas had highest Workers’ Compensation
Medical Costs of all states studied

* Highest Average Medical Cost per Claim
e Highest # of Services per Claim

e Highest # of Chiro and Physical Therapy visits and
services per Claim

* Hospitals provided fewer services but were paid
more than other states studied

July 2016



Overview of Texas WC System

 HB7 Texas Legislature 2005 Reforms

* Medical Treatment Guidelines

* Pharmacy Formulary

* Medical Fee Guidelines

e Utilization Review Guidelines

 Reforms to Dispute Resolution & Enforcement
* Certified Networks

July 2016



Medical Treatment Guidelines - Texas

* In 2005, Texas Legislature directed the
Commissioner of WC to adopt Evidence Based
Treatment Guidelines, Return to Work Guidelines
and a Closed Pharmacy Formulary by Rule (HB7,
2005)

 Commissioner Adopted Official Disability
Guidelines (ODG) published by Work Loss Data
Institute (WLDI) effective 2008

July 2016 b



Medical Treatment Guidelines

 ODG is widely used
e Contains print and web versions, mobile app

e Utilizes an Advisory Board of over 100 medical
doctors and practitioners in all specialties

» Expedites access to Quality of Care while limiting
unwarranted, excessive or inappropriate care

» Reflects medical appropriateness, not cost

July 2016 b



Medical Treatment Guidelines - Texas

e Safeguards patients from inappropriate care

* Provides framework for addressing patient
specific needs (ODG, Appendix D)

* Provides physicians greater clarity and expedites
approvals and pre-authorization

* Limits denials and disputes
* Facilitates quicker resolution of disputes
* Improves reserve setting and cost containment

July 2016



Pharmacy Closed Formulary - Texas

Adopted September 2011, Formulary includes all FDA-
approved drugs prescribed and dispensed for outpatient
use, but excludes :

— drugs with “N” status identified in the current
edition of the Official Disability Guideline (ODG)
Treatment in Workers’ Comp/ Appendix A, ODG
Workers’ Compensation Drug Formulary and any
updates

— any compounded drugs that contains a drug
identified with an “N” status in ODG; and

— investigational or experimental drugs as defined
in Texas Labor Code §413.014(a)

July 2016 b



Timeline of the Closed Formulary Implementation

Open Formulary
for all DOI*

011711

Open Formulary for
Dates of Injury (DOI)
prior to 09/01/11

(Lagacy claims) A\

09/01/1‘\ 09/01/13

(Now injuries)

Closed Formulary
for DOI 9/01/11
and after

exas Department of Insurance

Wivision of Workers’ Compensation and

[ Workers’ Compensation Research and Evaluation Group

Closed Formugry
for all DOI*

*Except Old Law Claims (DOI
Dec 31, 1990 and before)



Post 2005 Reforms in Texas
Success?

* Reduction in Medical Costs (WCRI 2011) - 23%
* Reduction in Insurance Premiums - 50%

* Reduction in Workplace Injuries - 27%

e Reduction in Claims Filed - 22%

* Reduction in Medical Disputes - over 40%

* Increase in Employer Participation - to 67%

* Increase in Employees Covered - to 81%

July 2016 b



Post 2005 Reform in Texas

 More Timely Resolution of Disputes
* Fewer Disputes over Retrospective Denials
* Improved Access to Care

* Increased # of Physicians Treating Workers’
Compensation Patients to over 18,000

* Average # Claims per Physician dropped from 22
to 16

* Fewer Opioids and other not recommended drugs
prescribed

July 2016 b



Post 2005 Reforms in Texas

* Improved Return To Work Outcomes

* % of Claims Receiving Initial Non-emergency Care
within 7 days increased from 79% to 82%

* % of Injured Employees receiving Temporary

income benefits who Returned to Work 6
months post injury increased from 74% to over
80%

 Median days off work decreased from 26 to 21
days

July 2016 b



Number of claims receiving pharmaceuticals,

by injury year (Sept.—Aug.)
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Number of claims receiving pharmaceuticals,
by injury year (Sept.—Aug.)
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Number of prescriptions by drug type,

by injury year (Sept.—Aug.)
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Change in the number of opioid prescriptions,

by injury year (Sept.—Aug.)
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Change in the number of opioid prescriptions,

by injury year (Sept.—Aug.)

All/Other drugs N-drugs
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Generic substitution: prescriptions of N-drugs,

by injury year (Sept.—Aug.)

50,000
Change from
3(3%)2)1 2010 (Pre-formulary) to
40,000 - ' 2011 (Post-formulary)
-Generic substitution rate for
30,000 -

N-drugs increased from 60%

(80%) 24,482
to 73%

20,000 -
- Use of brand drugs
decreased from 40% to 27%
10,000 -
O -
2010 2011
m Brand m Generic

Source: Texas Department of Insurance, Workers’ Compensation Research and Evaluation Group, 2015.

July 2016 b



Total costs by injury year (Sept.—Aug.)
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Total and average costs: N-drugs,

by injury year (Sept.—Aug.)
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Total

and average costs: Y- drugs,

by injury year (Sept.—Aug.)
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Law Offices of Rod Bordelon
Legal and Regulatory Consulting
bordelon.rod@gmail.com
512-970-5689
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Louisiana Property and Casualty Insurance Commission
Notice of Meeting and Agenda
Wednesday, November 16, 2016 at 10:00 A.M.
Department of Insurance — Plaza Hearing Room

VI.

Call to Order
Roll Call

Discussions and Presentations

A. Presentation by Mark Joiner, Administrator of the La. State Uniform Construction
Code Council, and Butch Browning, Jr., State Fire Marshal, on the current status of
building codes in Louisiana

B. Presentation by Gary Patureau, Exec. Dir. of the Louisiana Association of Self-Insured
Employers (LASIE), on the Medicare Secondary Payer Act

C. Review of 2016 Legislative Recommendations and Legislation
D. Review of the 2015-16 Annual Report

E. Discussion of Any Other Matters

Public Comments

Dates for Future Meetings—December 14, 2016 at 10:00 a.m.; February 1, 2017 at 10:00
a.m. (vote on recommendations for the annual report)

Adjournment



Louisiana Property and Casualty Insurance Commission

Minutes of the Meeting of the Commission

Wednesday, November 16, 2016 @ 10:00 A.M.

Department of Insurance — Plaza Hearing Room

Present were the following:

Members: Commissioner Donelon, Lou Fey (Chairman), Jeff Albright (Vice Chairman), Rep.
Talbot, Ray Aleman, Shawn Collins (for Lee Ann Alexander), Marc Carter, Will Grubbs Jr.,
Michael Guy, Chris Haik, Pauline Williams (for Dir. Sheral Keller), Ron Henderson, Leslie
Sallean, Mike Baron (for Dr. Katara Williams), Ann Metrailer.

Commission Staff: Tom Travis and Ron Williams.

LDI Staff: Warren Byrd, lleana Ledet, Charles Hansberry, Patrick Bell.
Others: David Marcase (House Insurance Staff) and Phyllis Perron.
The Chairman called the meeting to order at 10:10 a.m.

The Director called the roll and reported the absence of a quorum. (Later arriving members
created a quorum.)

The Chairman welcomed everyone in attendance.

Presentation on the Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code:
Mark Joiner, Administrator, Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code Council
Butch Browning, State Fire Marshal

The Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code Council (LSUCCC) is the body vested by
law with the task of maintaining the Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code (LSUCC),
which is a statewide code based on national and international standards. The LSUCCC meets
regularly in Baton Rouge and consists of 19 members with one representing the insurance
industry. Louisiana is one of four states with a uniform statewide fire code. The state averages
three to five deaths a year in commercial buildings usually attributable to a code compliance
issue. The State Fire Marshal does about 20,000 plan reviews each year for life, safety, and
egress compliance.



Mr. Joiner and Chief Browning impressed upon the members the importance of strong
building codes and their enforcement to insurance rates and public safety.

Presentation on Medicare Secondary Payer Act: Liability MSAs: Will they become a reality?
Gary Patureau, Exec. Dir. of the Louisiana Association of Self-Insured Employers
Jennifer Jordan, JD, CMSP, General Counsel, MEDVAL, LLC (phone)

Christine McPherson Melancon, RN, CM, MSCC, CMSP, CNLCP, VP of Operations, Ez-
MSA (phone)

The Medicare Secondary Payer (MSP) Act (42 U.S.C. 1395y(b)(2)) prevents Medicare from
paying when there is another party liable for medical payments. In workers’ compensation
settlements, parties often allocate money to future medical care  in a Medicare Set-Aside
(MSA) that is sometimes approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).
The practice is less common in liability cases. In workers’ compensation cases a variety of issues
have arisen particularly in areas where the calculation of future benefits is different in state law
and in the guidance from CMS. In the liability arena, these issues only get worse with
comparative fault, attorney fees and costs of obtaining a judgment or settlement, insurance policy
limits, multiple types of damages, and other issues that complicate such cases. The consideration
of Medicare issues has the potential to increase costs of insurance.

Mr. Patureau will work with the LPCIC on possible recommendations to the legislature on
these issues.

Review of Legislative Recommendations for the 2016 Regular Session and the Annual Report:

The Director, Tom Travis, briefly reviewed a draft of the entry for the next Annual Report
regarding the LPCIC recommendations to the legislature for 2016. There was no legislation
passed on the subjects of residential property insurance mediation or civil jury threshold. There
was none introduced on the subjects of direct action or uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM)
coverage.

The legislature passed three bills related to recommendations in the Annual Report. Act 262
requires that temporary housing for temporary workers comply with the Louisiana Industrialized
Building Act to the extent not subject to other rules. Act 472 increased fines for certain uses of
wireless devices while operating a motor vehicle. Act 445 raised fines for the failure to wear a
seatbelt.

The Annual Report was presented and briefly discussed.

There being no objection, the Chairman adjourned the meeting at 11:50 a.m.



Addendum: Biographies of the Presenters on the Medicare Secondary Payer Act

Jennifer Jordan, JD, CMSP

Jennifer Jordan is general counsel of MEDVAL, LLC, a consulting firm specializing in Medicare
Secondary Payer (MSP) compliance issues in insurance settlements. She possesses extensive
knowledge relative to Medicare set-aside allocation recommendation and administration,
conditional payment recovery and negotiation, MMSEA reporting requirements, and the
underlying statutory, regulatory and administrative policies that serve as the basis of the MSP
programs administered by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Jennifer has been
recognized as an expert of MSP issues by the US Department of Justice, is a frequent presenter
of continuing education programs nationwide, and has been an invited author for insurance
industry publications nationwide, inclusive of serving as the Editor-in-Chief of The Complete
Guide to Medicare Secondary Payer Compliance published by LexisNexis. Jennifer received a
2010 Workers' Compensation Notable Person Award from LexisNexis, recognizing her as a
visionary for her efforts in attempting to educate the industry in order to overcome the challenges
the MSP and CMS have created in insurance settlements. Jennifer possesses an economics
degree from the Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University, and a JD and an MBA from
the University of Baltimore, where she was both on Law Review and Editor-in-Chief of the
Intellectual Property Law Journal. Additionally, she maintains a life insurance license for
structured settlement purposes and is certified by the International Commission on Health Care
Certification as a Medicare Set-Aside Certified Consultant and by LASIE as a Certified
Medicare Secondary Payer Professional.

Christine McPherson Melancon, RN, CM, MSCC, CMSP, CNLCP

Christine M. Melancon is the Vice President of operations for Ez-MSA, a company specializing
in Medicare Set-Asides as well as other products which assist clients with Medicare Secondary
Payer (MSP) compliance. Christine is a proud graduate of Charity Hospital School of Nursing in
New Orleans, La., and is a registered nurse who holds certifications as a case manager (CCM), as
well as a Medicare Set Aside Consultant Certified (MSCC), and was among the first in group of
those who obtained the Certified Medicare Secondary Payer Professional (CMSP) designation.
In addition, Christine has earned her designation as a Certified Nurse Life Care Planner
(CNLCP). Christine is a member of NAMSAP (Annual Meeting Sub-Committee), the American
Association of Nurse Life Care Planners, and the Louisiana Association of Self Insured
Employers (LASIE). Christine is an MSCC certified instructor through the International
Commission for Health Care Certification and has served as a mentor to a multitude of
individuals new to MSP compliance issues, including allocators, brokers, adjusters, and
attorneys.



Liability MSAs

Will They Become a Reality?

Presented by: Jen Jordan, MEDVAL



Medicare Secondary Payer Compliance

Medicare is statutorily prohibited from making payments
when there is another responsible payer

[see 42 U.S.C. 1395y(b)(2)]
» Group health
» Workers’ compensation
» Liability insurance
» Auto
» PIP / Med-pay

» Self-insurance (includes if you simply do not have insurance)

» etc. - basically any person or entity with a legal liability to pay for
medical expenses must pay before Medicare, the Payer of Last Resort

» NOTE that WC was excluded in the original Medicare Act passed in
1965 - all other forms of insurance were added in 1980




Medicare Secondary Payer Compliance

In workers’ compensation settlements, Medicare’s exclusion
is equal to the future medical allocation

[see 42 C.F.R. 411.46]

» If the settlement agreement allocates certain amounts for specific
future medical services, Medicare does not pay for those services until
medical expenses related to the injury or disease equal the amount of
the lump-sum settlement allocated to future medical expenses

No similar regulation in Subpart D of the CFR that governs
Medicare’s exclusion for liability and no-fault insurance




Medicare Secondary Payer Compliance

There is no statutory or regulatory obligation,
state or federal, to “protect Medicare’s interests”

There is no legal requirement in any state
to obtain CMS approval of a WCMSA

(although may need to get approval of settlement)

The amount of the future medical allocation is governed by
state WC laws that permit the termination of medical benefits,
not the MSP




Liability MSAs

» Not as straight forward as workers’ compensation MSAs where most
jurisdictions provide no-fault coverage with lifetime medical benefits

» Comparative vs. contributory negligence issues
» Statutory caps & policy limits
» Eggshell plaintiffs

» No longer just indemnity & medical of only injured party - other types of
damages competing for settlement dollars

» Procurement costs considerations will be more significant in contingency fee
situations

» Multiple defendants settling at different times?
» CMS still hasn’t mastered WC, what can they possibly do with this??




Medicare Set-Asides

» Medicare is statutorily excluded from making payments when there is another
available payer to the extent of the legal obligation (i.e., if workers’
compensation provides for lifetime treatment, Medicare never has to pay
again).

» Compensation provided in exchange for release from future medical liability
is the exclusion, regardless of whether you call it an MSA or not.

» Obtaining CMS approval of an MSA is merely an additional conservative step to
ensuring that the government agrees that the amount set-aside for future
medical expenses is adequate.

» CMS approval however carries an inherent cost as you must calculate certain
services, frequencies and prices in a manner dictated by CMS sometimes
beyond what state WC law would provide.




WCMSA vs. LMSA

>

>
>

Lifetime medical

State law
Voluntary CMS program available

Commutation of future benefits

Policy limits, statutory caps,
comparative fault

Contract law
No current formal program

Rarely pays full compensation




Medicare Advantage Recoveries

» Medicare Advantage is Medicare for MSP purposes
» MAOs granted the same powers at the Secretary of HHS for recovery purposes
» However, MAOs are not following the same procedures:

» Making demands with no specificity

» Demanding payment within 30 days and immediately filing PCA for double damages
» Pursuing the double damages even after payment made if paid after suit filed
» Assigning receivables to collection agencies
» Case law, based upon Chevron deference, gives MAO standing to bring PCA
» Handle MAO demands with caution until this issue is resolved by the courts or Congress

» Recent 11th Circuit appellate case ruled mere existence of the no-fault insurance
policy was sufficient to demonstrate responsibility of purposes of establishing standi
for MAO to sue for double damages even though compensability of claim in questi




MAOs & PIP/Med-pay

» Litigation in southern Florida highlighting yet another ambiguity in MAO
recovery rights.

» Demonstrates little regard for proper claim filing procedures or policy limits

Recent case law says existence of policy sufficient for standing to file the suit
even though liability to pay not demonstrated in pleadings

» Alleging priority in policy limit exhaustion

» Be cautious of nuisance settlements - attempting to call those confessed
judgments

» Also be aware that if the MAO already filed suit prior to your payment,
litigation may still continue to collect the double portion




HR 6120: The Secondary Payer Advancement,
Rationalization, and Clarification (SPARC) Act

Proposed changes to Medicare Part D:

» Primary payer ceases to be responsible for drugs after ORM terminated &
Medicare Part D is primary

CMS can only recover for past Part D payments
3 year statute of limitations and procurement cost reduction

CMS must share Section 111 data with PDP within 15 days of receipt

vV v v Vv

Provisions to include PDP recovery in webportal to determine final amount

Serious yet unintended implications on MSAs - unfortunately compensability is
driven by underlying legal obligations so won’t stop demands for future Rx
damages, just means claimants could pocket the proceeds & use Part D instead

[i.e., legislation itself shifts burden of future Rx to Medicare]




Cost of LMSAs?

» Will delay settlements - raising MSA issues scares parties
- learning curve difficult for those who don’t understand
- unlearning what they think they know is even worse

» Will likely increase costs - those who believe WCMSAs are done right will
demand full compensation in the “interest” of Medicare” (& when that
happens, most insurers pay)

BUT neither of those things should happen

The Medicare exclusion should be governed by the damages allocated to future
medical expenses. IF done fairly and reasonably and the calculation methodology
defensible, there should be no risk of post-settlement government actions.

MSP does not create additional damages - the underlying state laws drive claims

Cannot let the federal government shift the burden of their Medicare obligations
onto the private sector



QUESTIONS?

Jen Jordan, Esq., MSCC, CMSP
» MEDVAL, LLC

» jjordan@medval.com
» (410) 336-4931




Louisiana Property and Casualty Insurance Commission
Notice of Meeting and Agenda
Wednesday, December 14, 2016 at 10:00 A.M.
Department of Insurance — Plaza Hearing Room

VI.

Call to Order
Roll Call

Discussions and Presentations

A. Update on Federal Involvement in Insurance Regulation (by phone with NAIC
Washington, DC office)

B. Discussion of Private Flood Insurance and NFIP Reauthorization
C. Update on NAIC Fall National Meeting

D. Discussion of Any Other Matters

Public Comments

Dates for Future Meetings—February 1, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. (vote on recommendations for
the annual report)

Adjournment



Louisiana Property and Casualty Insurance Commission

Minutes of the Meeting of the Commission

Wednesday, December 14, 2016 @ 10:00 A.M.

Department of Insurance — Plaza Hearing Room

Present were the following:

Members: Lou Fey (Chairman), Jeff Albright (Vice Chairman), Rep. Talbot, Ray Aleman,
Shawn Collins (for Lee Ann Alexander), Marc Carter, Capt. Maurice Bostick (for Sheriff
Champagne); Will Grubbs Jr., Michael Guy, Chris Haik, Pauline Williams (for Dir.
Sheral Keller), Ron Henderson, Leslie Sallean, Mike Baron (for Dr. Katara Williams),
Ann Metrailer.

Commission Staff: Tom Travis and Ron Williams.

LDI Staff: Charles Hansberry, Patrick Bell, Danielle Blanchard.

Others: David Marcase (House Insurance Staff) and Phyllis Perron.
The Chairman called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.
The Director called the roll and reported the presence of a quorum.
The Chairman welcomed everyone in attendance.

Presentation on Federal Involvement in Insurance Regulation and Discussion of Private
Flood Insurance and NFIP Reauthorization:

Brooke Stringer, Financial Policy and Legislative Advisor, National Association of Insurance
Commissioners (NAIC) Washington, DC

Ms. Stringer discussed legislation in the 114™ Congress that addressed issues of insurance
regulation. There were several bills that addressed issues of international standards and covered
agreements pursuant to the Federal Insurance Office Act of 2010, a part of the Dodd-Frank Act.
None were passed by the outgoing congress, but they will likely be reintroduced in some form in
the 115" Congress. Rep. Hensarling, the chairman of the House Financial Services Committee,
published a discussion draft of legislation that would make substantial changes to the Dodd-



Frank Act, abolish the Federal Insurance Office, and create an independent insurance advocate at
the federal level.

Ms. Stringer discussed the Draft House Republican Principles for Flood Insurance
reauthorization and Reform and the NAIC Principles for National Flood Insurance Program
(NFIP) Reauthorization. (Both of which are attached.)

Ms. Stringer also discussed the Joint Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, Loans in Areas Having
Special Flood Hazards: Private Flood Insurance. 81 Fed. Reg. 78063 (Nov. 7, 2016). The NAIC
supports the development of a market for private flood insurance that does not infringe on state
regulation of private insurance.

Update on NAIC Fall National Meeting.

The Director, Tom Travis, provided an update on property and casualty insurance issues
covered at the NAIC Fall National Meeting.

There being no objection, the Chairman adjourned the meeting at 11:10 a.m.
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NAIC PRINCIPLES FOR NATIONAL FLOOD INSURANCE PROGRAM (NFIP) REAUTHORIZATION

The current NFIP reauthorization expires on September 30, 2017 and Congress will be considering
potential changes and improvements to the program as part of the reauthorization process. The NFIP
seeks to decrease the costs and consequences of flooding for policyholders while at the same time
encouraging flood mitigation and reducing the dependence on federal disaster assistance. Given these
objectives, Congress faces the challenge of trying to maintain a balance between improving the financial
solvency of the program and reducing taxpayer exposure while also being mindful of affordability
concerns. Congress will have to tackle the tension between risk based pricing practices and affordable
rates. As Congress wrestles with how to address these challenges, state insurance regulators stand ready
to assist. We encourage Congress to consider the following recommendations for reauthorizing the NFIP
as part of a comprehensive approach to address the nation’s flood risk.

e Support a long-term reauthorization of the NFIP to avoid short-term extensions and program
lapses that create uncertainty in the insurance, housing and commercial lending markets.

e Encourage greater growth in the private flood insurance market as a complement to the NFIP to
help provide consumers with more choices.

o Support passage of the Flood Insurance Market Parity and Modernization Act
(H.R. 2901/S. 1679) that clarifies private flood insurance meets the mandatory purchase
requirement; that state insurance regulators have the same authority and discretion to
regulate private flood insurance as they have with other similar insurance products; and
that private flood insurance meets the continuous coverage requirement so policyholders
have a choice to return to the NFIP without penalty, including not losing any subsidy they
previously had with the NFIP.

o Require FEMA to reinstate its prior rules allowing policyholders to cancel their NFIP
policies mid-term and receive refunds on a pro-rated basis if they decide to replace their
NFIP policies with private flood insurance.

o Require FEMA to share NFIP information, including claims, elevation, and mapping
data, with state insurance regulators, insurers, modelers, advisory, statistical and rating
organizations in order for the private market to be able to accurately assess flood risks.

o Require FEMA to eliminate the non-compete clause to allow the Write Your Own
(WYO) insurance companies to sell private flood insurance outside of the NFIP.

e Review current NFIP training requirements for insurance producers in consultation with state
insurance regulators who are tasked with licensing producers who sell NFIP policies. Ensure that
any NFIP training is accurate and consistent with regard to the existence and availability of
private flood insurance.

e Encourage support for mitigation planning, including mitigation discounts, such as premium
discounts or insurance rate reductions to persons who build, rebuild, or retrofit certain residential
properties to better resist flood events, and legislative efforts such as the Disaster Savings
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Accounts Act (H.R. 2230) to allow individuals to set aside funds in a tax-preferred savings
account for disaster mitigation and recovery expenses.

e Encourage careful consideration of affordability issues and the impact of NFIP policy changes
on current NFIP policyholders. Certain actions should be considered within the reauthorization
to address affordability, for example, potentially including continuation by FEMA of its NFIP
grandfathering provisions or implementing means-tested discounts coupled with rate reform.

e Require FEMA to provide increased transparency to all stakeholders regarding its decision
making process for developing and updating its flood maps and rate making.

e Encourage a coordinated effort between the public and private sector to increase overall take up
rates of flood insurance, including facilitating opportunities to educate consumers about flood
insurance policy options. Implement methods to ensure better compliance with the federal
mandatory purchase requirement and encourage the purchase of flood insurance for those outside
of special flood hazard areas.

e Consider requiring a study on alternative approaches to the flood insurance program structure,
including, but not limited to, transitioning the NFIP into a residual market or a reinsurance
backstop, as well as addressing issues related to the NFIP debt. The study should include an
assessment of the implications of such changes on affordability, availability, the federal budget,
taxpayer exposure, and the flood insurance marketplace.



DRAFT
Principles for Flood Insurance Reauthorization and Reform
December 2016

Provide market stability through reauthorization of the National Flood
Insurance Program (NFIP)

¢ Reauthorize the NFIP and National Flood Mapping Program.

e C(Create stability in real estate markets with a defined authorization period. Between
2008 and 2012, the NFIP has been extended 17 times, and the program has lapsed 4
times during that same time period, creating needless uncertainty in the residential
and commercial real estate sectors in communities across the country.

Place NFIP on sound fiscal footing

¢ Require mandatory use of reinsurance or capital markets alternatives at levels
commensurate with the risk profile of the book of business, thereby providing
additional taxpayer protections for major losses.

e Actively manage NFIP financial risks. Due to large scale flood disasters, the cost of
flood insurance policy claims has far exceeded the amount of premiums and fees
received. As a result, the NFIP has incurred debt of $23 billion to the U.S. Treasury.

e Require risk-transfer to protect taxpayer funds. Reinsurance and capital markets
alternatives can be important financial risk management tools used by FEMA to
protect the NFIP from large losses and diversify risk across multiple markets.
NFIP’s use of all forms of risk transfers across multiple private sector markets will
enable the NFIP to better withstand catastrophic events.

Provide greater transparency, stronger public/private partnerships, and greater
consumer choice'to achieve public policy objectives

e Pass the Flood Insurance Market Parity and Modernization Act (Ross/Murphy) in an
effort to continue to grow a private flood insurance market.

¢ Require the elimination of the non-compete clause to allow Write Your Own
companies to better develop and grow private flood insurance products and markets.

¢ Repeal mandatory coverage requirement for commercial properties.

e Phase out over time NFIP coverage for those residential and commercial structures
over the maximum allowable coverage limits in replacement cost value.

Provide a more open insurance rate-setting process

e Require public process to disclose methodology and rational for the establishment of
NFIP rates and premiums.

¢ Promote transparency and accountability by requiring FEMA to hold public
meetings and explain its premium rate structures.

e Align the NFIP with private sector practices by using replacement value of the
structure, on a property-by-property basis, when calculating premiums.

e Enhance combination of risk assessment tools and mapping to determine more
accurate premiums.



DRAFT
Principles for Flood Insurance Reauthorization and Reform
December 2016

Update and reform mitigation and mapping process

¢ Require the Technical Mapping Advisory Council (TMAC) to develop map standards
for FEMA and non-government entities, thereby giving communities additional
avenues to bypass the FEMA mapping process and develop maps that use the most
updated community data and technology.

e Modernize and create greater flexibility for mitigation assistance, including
adjustments to the Increased Cost of Compliance (ICC) program.

e Add flexibility in mitigation programs, including consideration of voluntary buy-outs
in pre-disaster stage for severe repetitive loss properties owned by low and very low
income families.
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Louisiana Property and Casualty Insurance Commission

Notice of Meeting and Agenda
Wednesday, February 1, 2017 at 10:00 A.M.
Department of Insurance — Plaza Hearing Room

VI.

Call to Order

Roll Call

Discussions and Presentations

A. Discussion on Opioids—Director Kellar, OWCA

B. Discuss and VVote on Recommendations for 2017

1.
2.

3
4.
5
6

Maintain or strengthen the Uniform Construction Code
Distracted driving—ban manual use of handheld electronic devices
Reduce civil jury threshold

Repeal or amend direct action statute

. Opioid abuse—enact workers’ compensation pharmacy formulary

. Other recommendations

C. Discuss and Vote on Study Topics for 2017

© 0 N o g B~ w DN PE

Sharing economy

Cybersecurity and insurance

Driverless vehicles

Private flood insurance and NFIP reauthorization

Federal involvement in and effects on insurance and its regulation
Third party litigation funding

Bad faith damages

Collateral source rule

Other study topics

D. Discussion of Draft Annual Report

E. Topics for Future Meetings

F. Discussion of Any Other Matters

Public Comments

Dates for Future Meetings—none scheduled

Adjournment



Louisiana Property and Casualty Insurance Commission

Minutes of the Meeting of the Commission

Wednesday, February 1, 2017 @ 10:00 A.M.

Department of Insurance — Plaza Hearing Room

Present were the following:

Members: Commissioner Donelon, Lou Fey (Chairman), Jeff Albright (Vice Chairman), Rep.
Huval, Rep. Talbot, Ray Aleman, Shawn Collins, Marc Carter, Jamie Bourg (for Paul
Buffone), Ricky Edwards (for Sheriff Champagne); Will Grubbs Jr., Michael Guy, Chris
Haik, Director Sheral Keller, Ron Henderson, Leslie Sallean, Mike Baron (for Dr. Katara
Williams), Ann Metrailer.

Commission Staff: Tom Travis and Ron Williams.

LDI Staff: Charles Hansberry, Patrick Bell, Danielle Blanchard, Rich Piazza, Gayle Raby,
Latoya Middleton.

Others: David Marcase (House Insurance Staff), Chuck Davoli, Jennifer Marusak, Kevin
Cunningham, Gary Patureau, Andy Condrey, Wanda Freedman, and Phyllis Perron.

The Chairman called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.
The Director called the roll and reported the presence of a quorum.
The Chairman welcomed everyone in attendance.

Presentation and Discussion on Opioids:

Sheral Keller, Director, Office of Workers’ Compensation Administration (OWCA),
Louisiana Workforce Commission

Director Kellar discussed alternatives to a closed pharmacy formulary for addressing the
large number of prescriptions of opioids in workers’ compensation. She presented information
from the National Council of Compensation Insurers (NCCI) on opioid spending in Louisiana
and nationwide. She also presented her perspective as the director of the OWCA and ensuring
that any pharmacy program works with the medical treatment guidelines adopted in Louisiana.



Discussion and Vote on Recommendations for 2017
1. Maintain or strengthen the Uniform Construction Code.

Mr. Fey and Rep. Huval each spoke briefly in support of building codes and the benefits
derived from them in windstorms.

Mr. Huval moved adoption of the recommendation and Mr. Haik seconded. The motion was
adopted without objection or abstention.

2. Distracted driving—ban the manual use of handheld electronic devices.

Mr. Travis directed the attention of the members to California’s recently enacted AB 1785
that prohibits a person from driving a motor vehicle while holding and operating a handheld
wireless telephone or electronic wireless communication device. Director Kellar asked about
exceptions to which Mr. Travis replied that the exceptions were limited to certain public
safety personnel. Mr. Baron of the La. Highway Safety Commission (LHSC) pointed out the
difficulty of enforcing Louisiana’s current laws addressing the use of handheld devices.

Mr. Grubbs moved adoption of the recommendation and Mr. Baron seconded the motion.
There being no objections or abstentions, the motion was adopted.

3. Reduce civil jury threshold.
4. Repeal or amend direct action statute.

The Chair sought a motion in support of and to combine the vote on these issues. Rep. Talbot
so moved and Mr. Henderson seconded. Dir. Kellar voted NO and Ms. Bourg abstained. The
recommendations were adopted.

5. Opioid abuse—enact workers’ compensation closed pharmacy formulary.

Jennifer Marusak of the Louisiana State Medical Society addressed the commission in
opposition. She stated that the experience of Texas with a closed formulary has not been
good. Several of the reforms in Louisiana workers’ compensation were only recently fully
implemented and should be given a chance to work.

Chuck Davoli, Vice Chairman of and labor representative on the Workers’ Compensation
Advisory Council, addressed the commission in opposition. He stated that a closed formulary
denies medications to injured workers and creates a dual standard of care—one for injured
workers’ and another for everyone else. He stated that Texas is not the success story that
some claim, and that many are not able to get the care they need under the current system. He



stated that in group health and Medicare, most people are subject to some type of formulary,
so his objection is not to formularies in general but to the closed formulary in Texas.

Andy Condrey, claims operations manager of Gray Insurance, a Louisiana domestic insurer.
He spoke on the experience of Gray Insurance, which has a substantial book of business in
Texas. He stated that the implementation of the Texas closed formulary has worked quite
well and that Gray Insurance has paid for alternative, non-opioid pain treatments. The
doctors in Texas seldom prescribe the N-drugs and are prescribing Y-drugs or other
therapies. He related his own experience with a brief use of opioids for four days and the
difficulty he experienced in withdrawal.

Rep. Talbot moved the adoption of the recommendation and Rep. Huval seconded. The
motion was adopted. Director Kellar voted NO and Ms. Bourg abstained.

Discussion and VVote on Recommendations for 2017
Director Kellar moved the adoption of the listed study topics:
1. Sharing economy
2. Cybersecurity and insurance
3. Driverless vehicles
4. Private flood insurance and NFIP reauthorization
5. Federal involvement in and effects on insurance and its regulation
6. Third party litigation funding
7. Bad faith damages
8. Collateral source rule
There being no opposition, the study topics were adopted.

Mr. Grubbs raised the issue of punitive damages for distracted driving and moved to add that
to the list as a ninth topic. Director Kellar seconded the motion and there were no objections.

Annual Report, Future Meeting Topics, and Other Matters

Mr. Travis briefly discussed the content of the 2016-17 Annual Report and solicited
comments from the members.



Mr. Travis stated that he is working on setting up a future meeting on driverless cars that may
require a special meeting date to accommodate the presenters. He is also going to work on a
meeting on flood insurance and an update on federal issues. He asked if the members were
satisfied with the current regular meeting times.

Commissioner Donelon addressed the members on the subject of flood insurance,
particularly the reauthorization of the NFIP.

There being no objection, the Chairman adjourned the meeting at 11:50 a.m.



Assembly Bill No. 1785
CHAPTER 660
An act to repeal and add Section 23123.5 of the Vehicle Code, relating to vehicles.
[Approved by Governor September 26, 2016. Filed with Secretary of State September 26, 2016.]
LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL'S DIGEST
AB 1785, Quirk. Vehicles: use of wireless electronic devices.

Existing law prohibits a person from driving a motor vehicle while using an electronic wireless
communications device to write, send, or read a text-based communication, as defined, unless the
electronic wireless communications device is specifically designed and configured, and is used, to
allow voice-operated and hands-free operation, as specified. A violation of these provisions is an
infraction.

This bill would instead prohibit a person from driving a motor vehicle while holding and operating
a handheld wireless telephone or a wireless electronic communication device, as defined. The bill
would authorize a driver to operate a handheld wireless telephone or a wireless electronic
communications device in a manner requiring the use of the driver’s hand only under specified
conditions. By changing the definition of a crime, the bill would impose a state-mandated local
program.

The California Constitution requires the state to reimburse local agencies and school districts for
certain costs mandated by the state. Statutory provisions establish procedures for making that
reimbursement.

This bill would provide that no reimbursement is required by this act for a specified reason.
THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS:
SECTION 1.

Section 23123.5 of the Vehicle Code is repealed.

SEC. 2.

Section 23123.5 is added to the Vehicle Code, to read:

23123.5.

(@) A person shall not drive a motor vehicle while holding and operating a handheld wireless
telephone or an electronic wireless communications device unless the wireless telephone or
electronic wireless communications device is specifically designed and configured to allow voice-
operated and hands-free operation, and it is used in that manner while driving.

(b) This section shall not apply to manufacturer-installed systems that are embedded in the vehicle.



(c) A handheld wireless telephone or electronic wireless communications device may be operated
in a manner requiring the use of the driver’s hand while the driver is operating the vehicle only if
both of the following conditions are satisfied:

(1) The handheld wireless telephone or electronic wireless communications device is mounted on
a vehicle’s windshield in the same manner a portable Global Positioning System (GPS) is mounted
pursuant to paragraph (12) of subdivision (b) of Section 26708 or is mounted on or affixed to a
vehicle’s dashboard or center console in a manner that does not hinder the driver’s view of the
road.

(2) The driver’s hand is used to activate or deactivate a feature or function of the handheld wireless
telephone or wireless communications device with the motion of a single swipe or tap of the
driver’s finger.

(d) A violation of this section is an infraction punishable by a base fine of twenty dollars ($20) for
a first offense and fifty dollars ($50) for each subsequent offense.

(e) This section does not apply to an emergency services professional using an electronic wireless
communications device while operating an authorized emergency vehicle, as defined in Section
165, in the course and scope of his or her duties.

(f) For the purposes of this section, “electronic wireless communications device” includes, but is
not limited to, a broadband personal communication device, a specialized mobile radio device, a
handheld device or laptop computer with mobile data access, a pager, or a two-way messaging
device.

SEC. 3.

No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California
Constitution because the only costs that may be incurred by a local agency or school district will
be incurred because this act creates a new crime or infraction, eliminates a crime or infraction, or
changes the penalty for a crime or infraction, within the meaning of Section 17556 of the
Government Code, or changes the definition of a crime within the meaning of Section 6 of Article
XIII B of the California Constitution.



ONE TEXT OR CALL COuULD

- gy .,‘
SAMPLE LAW TO PROHIBIT w n
TEXTING WHILE DRIVING ‘

R ITAI.I.

{DATE}

The purpose of this sample legislation is to provide a framework for state legislatures to use to
prohibit texting while driving. While there are many sources of driver distraction, there is heightened
concern regarding the risks of texting-while-driving. The act of composing, sending or reading text
messages interrupts drivers’ cognitive attention, causes vision to be directed away from the road,
and compromises manual control of the vehicle.

While evidence is accumulating on the effects of other sources of driver distraction, a number of
states have enacted laws addressing cell phone use and/or texting while driving. Although laws
alone will not fully resolve the problem, this sample language is offered as an important step in
addressing the growing concern about driver distraction. As of December 2014, 169.3 billion text
messages were sent in the US (includes PR, the Territories, and Guam) every month.

The U.S. Department of Transportation has held two Distracted Driving Summits in Washington,

D.C. to examine the full spectrum of distracted driving across transportation modes: passenger
vehicles, large trucks, trains and transit. The leading traffic safety experts, safety advocates and
government officials gathered to define the problem and discuss how best to address it. The summits
generated broad agreement among public and private sector organizations and policymakers about
the need for texting-while-driving laws. Public surveys also confirm widespread community support
for texting bans.

In further recognition of the serious risk posed by texting-while-driving and to demonstrate Federal
leadership, President Obama issued an Executive Order on October 1, 2009*. The Order prohibits
Federal employees from texting while driving Government owned vehicles or privately owned
vehicles while on official Government business or from texting-while-driving using wireless electronic
devices supplied by the Government.

Currently, 46 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam and the U.S. Virgin Islands ban
text messaging for all drivers. Fourteen states and D.C. Puerto Rico, Guam and the U.S. Virgin
Islands, prohibit all drivers from using handheld cell phones while driving. However, these laws vary
in their design and scope. Analysts expect that state legislatures will remain active in coming years
as evidence accumulates and the call to take action on this issue becomes yet more urgent.

Texting laws are relatively new and have not been thoroughly evaluated. However, considering the
rapid emergence of the problem and the growing evidence showing the threat to the safety of all
road users, safety advocates and state legislatures are compelled to move forward, basing texting
legislation on the broad foundation of principles learned from seat belt laws, impaired driving statutes
and similar legislative initiatives, while more specific scientific evidence is gathered. This sample law
reflects current circumstances and state of knowledge, but may be revised in the future to
incorporate new research findings, address evolving technologies, or to harmonize with other
legislation.

In addition to enacting a texting-while-driving law, states may consider other steps to address the
issue, including enhanced public awareness and law enforcement programs and improved police

! See www.archives.gov/federal-register/executive-orders/2009-obama.html and click
on Executive Order 13513 for more information.



crash reports that document specific distractions involved in crashes. Since the prevalence of texting
is particularly high among teens, legislatures may also choose to include specific consequences
under their graduated drivers licensing law for texting violations by novice drivers, such as delayed
full licensure.

The following organizations participated in the development of this sample law: Advocates for
Highway and Auto Safety, Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers, American Association of Motor
Vehicle Administrators, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, AAA,
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, CTIA- The Wireless Association, Governors Highway
Safety Association, ITS America, International Association of Chiefs of Police, National Conference
of State Legislatures, National Safety Council, The National Traffic Law Center of the National
District Attorneys Association, Safe Kids USA, and the U.S. Department of Transportation. The
sample law — either in its entirety or in its individual provisions - does not necessarily reflect the
positions of any of the individual participating organizations.

ok ok
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- . ’
SAMPLE TEXTING WHILE DRIVING LAW w n

R ITAI.I.

8§ 1 Short title
This act may be cited as the [State] Ban on Texting While Driving Law

§ 2 Purpose

The purpose of this subchapter is to:

(1) Improve roadway safety for all vehicle operators, passengers, bicyclists, pedestrians and other
road users;

(2) Prevent crashes related to the act of text messaging while driving a motor vehicle;

(3) Reduce injuries, death, property damage, health care costs, health insurance and automobile
insurance rates related to motor vehicle crashes; and

(4) Authorize law enforcement officers to stop vehicles and issue citations to persons texting while
driving as a standard offense.

§ 3 Application

Except as provided in Section 4, this subchapter applies to all drivers during operation of a motor
vehicle on the travel portion of public streets, roads and highways [Option: States may elect to cover
only motor vehicles in motion]. This subchapter amends [insert state code] to make it unlawful to
manually type or enter multiple letters, numbers, symbols or other text in a wireless communication
device, or send or read data in the device, for the purpose of non-voice interpersonal
communication, including texting, emailing and instant messaging.

8§ 4 Exemptions

This subchapter does not apply to a driver who is:

(1) Alaw enforcement, fire service, or emergency medical services professional performing official
duties.

(2) Reporting an emergency, or criminal or suspicious activity to law enforcement authorities.

(3) Receiving messages related to the operation or navigation of a motor vehicle; safety-related
information including emergency, traffic, or weather alerts; data used primarily by the motor
vehicle; or radio broadcasts.

(4) Using a device or system for navigation purposes.

(5) Conducting wireless interpersonal communication that does not require manual entry of multiple
letters, numbers, or symbols or reading text messages, except to activate, deactivate, or initiate
a feature or function.

8 5 Penalties

A driver violating this subchapter shall be subject to a penalty of:

(1) For the 1st offense — traffic infraction or violation including a minimum fine of $75 and action
against driving privileges.

(2) For a subsequent offense — penalties should escalate in accordance with the state’s motor
vehicle and traffic laws.

(3) For any offense that results in a death or serious injury — the infraction should increase to a
felony (criminal offense) with penalties consistent with state sentencing guidelines.

ok ok ke

NHTSA

W\\'w.nht\z.guv




Distracted Driving Laws by State

Updated January 2017
All Cell Phone Ban Text Messaging Ban
S Hand-held X X Crash
tate Ban School Bus Novice All School Bus | Novice Data
Drivers Drivers Brfvars Drivers Drivers
16, or 17 w/
Intermediate
Alabama License <6 Yes Covered under all driver Yes
months ban
(Primary) (Primary)
Alaska Yes Covered under all driver Yes
(Primary) ban
. Yes
Arizona (Primary) Yes
Arkansas * 18 - 20 years | Yes <18 Yes Covered under all driver Yes
old (Primary) | (Primary) (Secondary) (Primary) ban
California ves Yes <18 Yes Covered under all driver -
(Primary) (Primary) (Secondary) (Primary) ban
Colorado <18 Yes Covered under all driver Yes
(Primary) (Primary) ban
Connecticut Yes Yes <18 Yes Covered under all driver
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary) (Primary) ban
Learner or
Delaware Yes Yes Intermediate Yes Covered under all driver ves
License ban
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary) (Primary)
Learners
Yes Yes " Yes i
D.C. Permit bCacl)r\]/ered under all driver Yes
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary) (Primary)
Florida Yes Covered under all driver Yes
(Secondary) ban
Georgia R <18 Yes Covered under all driver Ves
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary) ban
Guam ves Yes Covered under all driver
(Primary) (Primary) ban
Hawaii Yes <18 Yes Covered under all driver Yes
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary) ban
Idaho Yes Covered under all driver Yes
(Primary) ban
lllinois ves S <19 Yes Covered under all driver |
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary) (Primary) ban
<21 Yes )
Indiana (Primary) (Primary) bCaor\]/ered urrate 2l alTEs Yes
(eff. 7/2015)
Restricted or
| Intermediate Yes Covered under all driver v
owa License ban es
(Primary) (Secondary)
Learner or
K Intermediate Yes Covered under all driver v
ansas Lieenss ban es
(Primary) (Primary)
Kentucky Yes <18 Yes Covered under all driver .
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary) ban
Learner or S VERT G
[IEEIERIER hES Liceynse hES Covered under all driver
Louisiana License ban u Yes
(regardless - (Primary for .
of age) (Primary) <18) (Primary)

Source: Governors Highway Safety Association, http://www.ghsa.org/state-laws/issues/Distracted-Driving
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Learner or

Mai Intermediate Yes Covered under all driver .
aine License ban es
(Primary) (Primary)
Maryland ves <18 Yes Covered under all driver Ves
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary) ban
Massachusetts Yes <18 Yes Covered under all driver Ve
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary) ban
Level 1 or 2
Yes . Yes i
Michigan License l()Zéti)r\]/ered under all driver Yes
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary)
<18 w/
Learner or
Minnesota Yes Provisional Yes Covered under all driver Yes
License ban
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary)
Mississippi e Yes Covered under all driver Yes
(Primary) (Primary) ban
<21
Missouri ] Yes
(Primary)
Montana Yes
<18 w/
Learner or )
Nebraska e Yes Covered under all driver Yes
License ban
(Secondary) (Secondary)
Nevada VES Yes Covered under all driver Yes
(Primary) (Primary) ban
New Yes <18 Yes Covered under all driver
Hampshire ban
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary)
Permit or
New J Ve Yes Provisional Yes Covered under all driver v
ew Jersey License ban es
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary) (Primary)
Learner or
New Mexico In State Provisional Yes Covered under all driver N
vehicles License ban
(Primary) (Primary)
New York VES Yes Covered under all driver Vs
(Primary) (Primary) ban
North Carolina Yes <18 Yes Covered under all driver Yes
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary) ban
North Dakota <18 Yes Covered under all driver N
(Primary) (Primary) ban
Ohio <18 Yes Covered under all driver Yes
(Primary) (Secondary) ban
Learner or
Oklahom Intermediate Yes Covered under all driver v
2oma License ban es
(Primary) (Primary)
Oregon MG <18 Yes Covered under all driver Yes
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary) ban
Pennsylvania ves Covered under all driver Yes
(Primary) ban

Source: Governors Highway Safety Association, http://www.ghsa.org/state-laws/issues/Distracted-Driving
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U S Yes Yes Covered under all driver
(Primary) (Primary) ban
Rhode Island Yes <18 Yes Covered under all driver Yes
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary) ban
South Carolina Yes Covered under all driver Yes
(Primary) ban
Learner or
Intermediate Yes Covered under all driver
South Dakota [ ban Yes
(Secondary) (Secondary)
Learner or
- Yes Intermediate Yes Covered under all driver v
ennessee License ban es
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary)
Yes, w/ Yes, w/
Texas 2 passenger <17 S passenger <17 <18 Yes
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary) (Primary)
Uit Yes <18 Yes Covered under all driver Yes
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary) ban
Vermont Yes <18 Yes Covered under all driver Yes
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary) ban
i (s Yes Yes Covered under all driver Yes
(Primary) (Primary) %
Virginia Yes <18 Yes Covered under all driver Yes
(Primary) (Secondary) (Primary) ban
Learner or
. Yes Intermediate Yes Covered under all driver
Washington Licence ban ves
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary)
<18 w/
Learner or .
e Yes Intermediate Yes Covered under all driver Yes
Licence ban
(Primary) (Primary) (Primary)
Learner or
- ) Intermediate Yes Covered under all driver v
Isconsin Licence ban es
(Primary) (Primary)
Wyoming Yes Covered under all driver Yes
(Primary) ban
14 + D.C. 46 + D.C.,
IR CNET, | 5 mye 38+ D.C. PR, Guam, | 4 2
Virgin Virgin
Islands Islands 48 +
Total States Primary (41 + 3-' S
. . Primary (32 + D.C., PR, g f Irgin
All Primary All Primary D.C.) Guam, Virgin Primary Primary Islands
Islands)

Secondary (6)

Secondary (5)

! Arkansas also bans the use of hand-held cell phones while driving in a school zone or in a highway construction zone. This law
is secondarily enforced.

% Texas has banned the use of hand-held phones and texting in school zones.

Source: Governors Highway Safety Association, http://www.ghsa.org/state-laws/issues/Distracted-Driving
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