LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
TIMOTHY J. TEMPLE
COMMISSIONER

2024 FINANCIAL FILING INSTRUCTIONS
FOR
VEHICLE MECHANICAL BREAKDOWN INSURERS

The following are required by law to be filed with this Department to continue your authority to transact
business in the State of Louisiana. The filing date is the postmark date. If the due date falls on a weekend
or holiday, the deadline is extended to the next business day.

1. Asrequired by La. R.S. 22:821(B)(2), an annual financial regulation fee in the amount of $1,000
due on or before March 1, 2024, which should be submitted to the following address:

LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
TAX DIVISION

P.O. BOX 94214

BATON ROUGE, LA 70804

2. Vehicle mechanical breakdown licenses expire annually on March 15th. The license must be
renewed by filing the Annual Renewal of Vehicle Mechanical Breakdown Insurer License in the
State of Louisiana form and payment of $1,500.00 after January 1 and before March 15 of each
year. Checks or money orders should be made payable to the Louisiana Department of Insurance.

A license which expires may be reinstated within ninety days of the expiration by submitting the
completed form and paying the required fee.

The renewal or reinstatement form and fee should be submitted to:

LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
COMPANY LICENSING

1702 N. 3rd St

BATON ROUGE, LA 70802

If the licensee fails to submit the required form, pay the renewal fee or reinstate the license within
the ninety days of expiration, a new application must be filed.

3. Asrequired by La. R.S. 22:366, an audited financial statement prepared by an independent
certified public accountant for the period ending December 31, 2023. An original and a duplicate
or photocopy must be filed at the below address on or before June 1, 2024.

LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

P.O. BOX 94214

BATON ROUGE, LA 70804

ANY FILINGS SUBMITTED AFTER THE DUE DATE WILL BE CONSIDERED LATE AND
SUBJECT TO A FINE AND/OR REGULATORY ACTION.

P. O. Box 94214 « BATON ROUGE, LouUISIANA 70804-9214
PHONE (225) 342-5900 * FAx (225) 342-3078
https://lwww.ldi.la.gov


http://www.ldi.la.gov/docs/default-source/documents/licensing/companies/vmbi-renewal.pdf?sfvrsn=e7634852_6

Act No. 592 passed in the 2018 Louisiana Regular Session provides for the regulation of vehicle service
contracts by the Louisiana Secretary of State. Currently licensed Vehicle Mechanical Breakdown
(‘“VMB’) Insurers can either (1) renew its VMB Insurer license with the Louisiana Department of
Insurance (see requirements above) or (2) choose not to renew the VMB license issued by the LDI, and
apply as a Motor Vehicle Service Contract Provider with the Louisiana Secretary of State.

Please direct any questions to Stewart Guerin at (225) 219-3929, sguerin@]ldi.la.gov.

Submission of Contact Information (Electronic Filing)

No later than March 1 each year, all risk bearing entities must provide an annual certification for certain
contact types. The information on contact types is include in Regulation 117.

How to provide annual certification. The LDI will use the existing Licensee Contacts Module of the
Industry Access System for the updates and the annual certification. A risk bearing entity may use the
Licensee Contacts Module or the Uniform Certificate of Authority Corporate Amendment Form 14 to
notify the LDI of changes to the contact information but the annual certification will only be available
through the Licensee Contacts Module of the Industry Access System.

See the following link for further information: https://Idi.la.gov/industry/company-licensing/company-
contact-changes

Please direct any contact information question to the Division of Company Licensing, (800) 259-5300.
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