Act 311 of the 2012 Regular Legislative session requires vendors of portable electronic devices
to hold a Portable Electronics Limited Lines license to offer insurance coverage for the repair or
replacement of a portable electronic device effective August 1, 2012. Vendors engaged in the
sale of portable electronics insurance on or before the effective date of this act are required to
apply for licensure within 90 days.
Portable electronic insurance is defined as insurance coverage for the repair or replacement of a
portable electronic device due to loss, theft, inoperability due to mechanical failure, malfunction,
damage, or other similar causes of loss. Service contracts or extended warranties providing
coverage limited to the repair, replacement, or maintenance due to a defect in materials,
workmanship, accidental damage from handling, power surges, or normal wear and tear are not
considered to be portable electronic insurance.
The license is issued to the vendor and authorizes any employee or authorized representative of
the vendor to sell or offer portable electronics insurance at any location in Louisiana where the
vendor operates. The application fee for a Portable Electronics Limited Lines license is $200.
The license renews December 31 of every even year. The renewal fee is $100. A list of all
Louisiana locations where business will be transacted along must accompany the application
Application for Resident or Non-Resident Insurance Business Entity