All first-time individual resident producer and adjuster applicants must be fingerprinted in order to become licensed. Fingerprint results must be received by the Department before a license will be issued. You must schedule a time for submitting fingerprints at the Prometric web site. While an applicant may take a Louisiana examination for a resident insurance producer or adjuster license at a Prometric location in any state, the fingerprints may only be submitted at a Prometric location within Louisiana. Any criminal history record information obtained by this process are confidential, and shall be exempt from the public records law
An individual applicant is not required to be fingerprinted if he is one of the following:
- A nonresident
- Already actively licensed as a resident and are adding a new license type or line of authority
- Reinstating a producer license within 2 years of date of lapse
- Reinstating an adjuster license within 12 months of license lapse
- Actively licensed as a nonresident in Louisiana and are moving to Louisiana
Fingerprints are not required for submission of an application for a business entity.
An individual submitting an application for a resident producer or adjuster license in Louisiana should schedule an appointment for submission of fingerprints within one week of submission of the application. Those applicants who are required to sit for an examination are encouraged to schedule the fingerprint submission for the same day as their examination whenever possible. This will prevent multiple visits to the examination and fingerprinting locations.
Generally the Department will receive fingerprint results within three to four days from submission of the fingerprints. If the Louisiana State Police or Federal Bureau of Investigation are unable to run the reports due to unreadable or unclear fingerprint submissions, it may take up to sixty (60) days for a check to be completed using alternate means.
Schedule an appointment to submit fingerprints