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LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
OFFICE OF MOTOR VEHICLES

Section: IV Motor Vehicle Registration Requirements  Effective: 12/06/2005
Number: 76.01 Revised: 06/07/2013

CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION
To view Louisiana Statutes; hitp;-www . leais.staic.la.us

AUTHORITY
R.S. 32:702(15)
R.S. 32:706.1
R.S.32:707E
R.S. 32:707.3

DEFINITION OF CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION

A Certificate of Destruction is a type of title issued for a water-damaged vehicle, other than an
antique vehicle or a vehicle in excess of twenty thousand pounds gross weight, whose power
train, computer, or electrical system has been damaged by flooding as the result of a
gubernatorial declared disaster or emergency and has been declared a "“total loss”.

REQUIREMENTS

An insurance company that acquires ownership of a vehicle must apply for a certificate of
destruction within thirty days. A 60 day extension period may be granted upon approval by
the Office of Motor Vehicles, not to exceed ninety days from the date of settlement.

The following must be submitted:

« Current Louisiana Certificate of Title properly assigned, if applicable.

« A completed vehicle application form (DPSMV1739) for the certificate of destruction.,
The words “Certificate of Destruction” must be written or stamped on the application
and on the face of the accompanying title.

« A copy of the total loss settlement indicating the date of loss as well as the date of
settlement.

« Applicable title and handling fee

RELATED POLICIES

Section IV Policy 2.03 Completion of Application (DPSMV 1799)

Policy 20.05 Disposal of Junk Vehicles

Policy 42.0 Certificate of Salvage Law

Policy 42.2 Out of State Titles Branded R reconstructed, Rebuilt, Reconditioned
Policy 42.4 Salvage Retention

Policy 76.0 Water Damaged Vehicles
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LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
OFFICE OF MOTOR VEHICLES

Section: 1V Motor Vehicle Registration Requirements Effective: 09/10/1990
Number: 69.00 Revised: 07/01/2015

FEES
AUTHORITY
R.5.32:728
R.S.32:412 |
R.S.47:472 a
R.S. 47:5093
R.S. 47:519

DEFINITION
All fees collected by the Office of Motor Vehicles are mandated by law.

REQUIREMENTS
Following is a list of the normal fees for title/registration transactions and the statutes under which those
fees are levied:

lTCertiﬁcate of Title ‘—”R_S 32:728 Jl $68.59|
[Duplicate Title |Ir.s. 32:728 I $68.50]
|Certificate of Destruction Rs32:7073B(1) || $68.50]
[Certified Copy of Title |R.S.32:728 N $15.00]
[UCC Lien Recordation RS, 32:710 I $15.00]
[Other Lien Recordation/Cancellation |R.S. 32:728 il $10.00]
[Handling Fee [R.S.32:412.1 I $ 8.00
[Duplicate Registration J R.S.47:472 [ $ 4.00|
[License Transfer |IR.S. 47:509 | $3.00|
|Lost Plate/Sticker R.S.47:472 Il $10.00]
Dealer Temporary Marker R.S.47:519 $4.00 each

Sold in sets of 25

EXCEPTIONS

e Title corrections due to office error arc exempt from the title fee.

RELATED POLICIES
Section 1V, i 00 landling fees
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